University of Calcutta

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

History of Departments

Established in the year 1980, the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, situated at Rajabazar Science College Campus, meant for post graduate studies is one of the largest and well established departments of Calcutta University. Very soon after its establishment, the department began to provide the intellectual foundations of Indian Technologies. Since then, over time, the department has played a vital role in the development technological resources by establishing the ability of Indian researchers to carry out advanced scientific development.

The University of Calcutta (informally known as Calcutta University or abbreviated as CU) is a collegiate public state research university located in Kolkata, West Bengal, India. It was established on 24 January 1857 and is the first multidisciplinary and Western-style institutions in Asia. Today, the university's jurisdiction is limited to a few districts of West Bengal. Within India, it is recognized as a "Five-Star University" and accredited an "A" grade by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The University of Calcutta was awarded the status of "Centre with Potential for Excellence in Particular Area" and "University with potential for excellence" by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Developped and supported by A. K. Samanta, Database Administrator © 2021. All the rights are reserved by the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, University of Calcutta.